Help My Friend Brooke in the Chicago Marathon

My buddy Scott's girlfriend, Brooke, is running in the 2006 Chicago Marathon. As part of the Marathon, she's looped up with the National AIDS Foundation to help raise money for the cause. Take a look at the link below and help out. She's a great girl, he's a great guy and it's a great cause.

J.

Link to Brooke's AIDS Marathon Page

Here's her cover letter as well:

It's that time of year again – time to train for a very special MARATHON . That's right! I will be participating in the Chicago 2006 Marathon this October! I am taking part in a six-month training program and I am running a little farther each week…in total I expect to log nearly 500 miles. It's all part of the National AIDS Marathon Training Program, which raises money for the AIDS Foundation of Chicago.

Despite recent advances in the treatment of AIDS, the epidemic is far from over. With more than 20 million deaths so far, AIDS is now the leading cause of death among all people aged 15 to 59 worldwide. More than one million Americans, and 40 million others around the world, are now living with HIV. And the rate of AIDS in the Chicago Metropolitan area has jumped by more than 400% over the past decade.

The money raised from the AIDS Marathon Training Program will allow the AIDS Foundation of Chicago to fund direct medical care, food, housing, and other vital AIDS services to help keep people with HIV/AIDS alive until theres a cure. This is why I am committed to raise at least $1,400 before Wednesday, July 5, 2006 (although of course I would like to raise lots more). I'm asking for your support.

I would be so grateful for any donation you can make to help me meet this goal. It's so easy to make a donation (so no excuses!), just click on the link at the bottom of the page which will bring to my personal web page. It only takes a few moments to make a contribution. Once there just simply click to the left of the message, and you are done! Together, we can take pride in improving the lives of those suffering here in our communities.

As you all can probably imagine, this is certainly one of the most physically challenging tasks one can attempt – how am I going to give up my Saturday morning mimosas on the roof deck? But I am confident that with your support I can make it to the finish line. Thank you so much for supporting me in this huge undertaking. When I cross that Start Line in October, with the roar of the crowds beside me, on my way to complete the marathon…I'll know that you helped me, and so many others, along the way.

With many thanks,
Brooke

Leave a Reply

