Yesterday was a wreck…literally!

Went out for a last minute stint at the kart track. My kart decided to cranky so at the end of the day, my buddy Carlos and I went out together on 2 of his karts. I took out his ICC and he took his moto shifter. The ICC was way more twitchy than normal. The shift linkage was really stiff and power was as chaotic as when I was 14 and trying to keep the parents from finding my first Playboy. Uggh. Coming into turn 2, I missed a shift and went wide in the sweeper. Carlos was right on my tail and tried to take the position on the inside. He got in too hot, got MASSIVE understeer and WHAMO! drove into my back wheel, up my right arm, over my shoulder and kartwheeled into the hay/tires. What a mess. He ended up with a broken collarbone and elbow and a sep’d shoulder. Totally sucked! I think the whole day ended up with 7 laps in total. Carlos’s OK, but will be out of action for a couple months. Complete bummer. I’ve seen tumbles like that a bunch on the web, but that was the first time I got to see the underside of a kart at 50MPH. I’d prefer not to do that again.

Leave a Reply

