Being an anal-retentive hushed-toned paranoid entrepreneur…WTF?!?!?

Most of you who read my blog know pretty well by now that I’m a serial entrepreneur.  I’ve done 3 startups of my own and a 4th as a co-founder and CTO.  All of them have, at some point or another, have involved developing in a public venue like a Starbucks, random coffee shop, Borders, park bench and even, on more than one occasion, cliffs at the ocean.  What FINALLY dawned on me today, as I continue to evolve the Mojeeto File System and apply it to something truly useless using the Facebook API, is that WTF is up with all of the paranoia that we ALL have when we build stuff?  I mean REALLY?!?!?!  Is that random guy or gal in the coffee shop REALLY going to see over your shoulder enough or hear enough of your conversation to, in what will probably be noted as the first practical use of time travel, beat you to market with YOUR product, only better?  Will they glean the special sauce that you’ve supposedly come up with?!?!?  I think not.

I’ve been playing with distributed adaptive storage, natural language processing (NLP) and all-around cool effing ideas for the last 10 years now in technology.  NOT ONCE has some random bojo ripped me off by seeing what I’m working on in a coffee shop or the Old Pro (a sports bar in downtown Palo Alto owned in-part by super-company board member and Intuit CEO Bill Campbell).  While I’m not saying that I’m going to stop being so damn ridiculous when I build, I have realized I’m gonna relax a bit and stop peering over my shoulder like someone is feverishly copying my code +/or designs.

Leave a Reply

